Skip to menu Skip to content
See the new, latest Symposium website HERE! This is an archive for an old event.
April 13-16, 2015 · Colorado Springs, Colorado USA

Space Technology Hall of Fame Dinner: Inductees and Featured Speaker Sigourney Weaver

The Space Technology Hall of Fame® honors world class technology and those who transform technology originally developed for space exploration into products that help improve the quality of life here on Earth. Induction into the Space Technology Hall of Fame® affords space innovators much deserved recognition, increases public awareness and encourages further innovation.

2013 Inductees

  • GATR Inflatable Satellite Communication System, a portable, rapidly deployed, inflatable antenna that targets a geostationary satellite to establish critical communications links. GATR is based in Huntsville, Ala.
  • Mediphan ultrasound technologies, compact low-power ultrasound devices that can be used as a diagnostic tool where large scanning equipment is impractical. Mediphan is based in Ottawa, Canada.

Both technologies were originally developed for space applications and have now been modified for products and services used on Earth.

Also recognized are individuals and organizations for their roles in developing and adapting the technologies for commercial use.

2013 Individual Inductees
The following individuals are being inducted into the Space Technology Hall of Fame® in 2013:


  • Paul A. Gierow, P.E., president and CEO, GATR Technologies
  • William R. Clayton, chief scientist, GATR Technologies
  • Robert Romanofsky, Ph.D., senior research engineer, NASA Glenn Research Center, Communications, Instruments and Controls Division
  • Kevin M. Lambert, Ph.D., senior research engineer, Vantage Partners, LLC

Mediphan/DistanceDoc and MedRecorder

  • Scott A. Dulchavsky, M.D., Ph.D., chairman and surgeon-in-chief, Henry Ford Hospital
  • Mike Sandler, president and CEO, Epiphan Systems, Inc. & Mediphan, Inc.
  • Leroy Chiao, Ph.D., chemical engineer and former consulting NASA astronaut lead on technology. Currently special advisor -- human spaceflight, Space Foundation

2013 Organizational Inductees

  • GATR Technologies
  • NASA Glenn Research Center
  • Mediphan, Inc.
  • NASA Johnson Space

Three Events to Honor Inductees

These events at the Space Symposium will honor the inductees on April 11:

  • The Space Technology Hall of Fame® Private Induction Ceremony, co-sponsored by Intelsat
  • The Space Technology Hall of Fame® Cocktail Reception, co-sponsored by Inmarsat
  • The Space Technology Hall of Fame® Dinner, which features dinner speaker Sigourney Weaver and is co-sponsored by SpaceX

The Private Induction Ceremony is by invitation only and the Reception and Dinner are open to all Space Symposium attendees.

About Nomination and Judging

Each year, the Space Technology Hall of Fame solicits nominations from the industry and the public. After a thorough review process that establishes whether the technologies did, indeed, have their origins in space exploration and/or research, the qualifying technologies are reviewed and ranked by a distinguished panel of judges.

The 2013 panel of judges included:

  • Richard Ambrose, deputy and vice president, Lockheed Martin Space Systems
  • David Deigan, president & CEO, Advanced Flexible Materials, Inc.
  • Chummer Farina, vice president, Canadian Space Agency
  • Andrea Jaime, executive director, Space Generation Advisory Council
  • Steven Kenney, associate, Toffler Associates
  • Amy Mainzer, Ph.D., research scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Walter Peeters, president, International Space University
  • Michael Simpson, Ph.D., executive director, Secure World Foundation
  • Mary Ellen Weber, founder, Stellar Keynotes & Consulting and former NASA astronaut

Nomination process for 2014

The deadline to submit nominations for induction during 2014 will be Saturday, Aug. 31, 2013.  Anyone may submit a nomination of a technology that was developed anywhere in the world for use in space and then modified or adopted for use on Earth. Nomination information, including online and downloadable nomination forms, is available at

The Space Foundation established the Space Technology Hall of Fame in 1988 to increase public awareness of the benefits that result from space exploration programs and to encourage further innovation. Additional information about the Space Technology Hall of Fame®, including a complete list of inducted technologies, is available at


« Go back

Mobile App Co-sponsored by FedEx Get the app!

31st Space Symposium Mobile App

Get the app here or visit our mobile-friendly website for the most up-to-date information!